PDA

View Full Version : Secret Society-Invitation Received


Pages : [1] 2

twinkle
April 15th, 2008, 12:49 PM
I am quite disturbed by a letter I received yesterday, an invitation to join a "secret society". It came out of Ohio.

They knew my name and address and the letter contained statements like:

We have taken a closer look at your profile, and we have chosen you because you possess several rare traits.

World famous people belong to this society.

They are offering me for "free" "Greatest Kept Secrets".

The "Secrets" will let me know what other people are thinking. "I won a lot when I gambled." "Suddenly possessed a photographic memory." We know that you ___ (my name) have experienced moments in which you feel spiritually gifted." "You can read into the future." And many more statements like this.

The letter was 5-6 pages long. I'm suppose to respond by a certain date.

Of course, I'm not going to respond.

Has anyone else received a letter from this society? Has anyone heard of this before?

I can't understand why they "found" me. I do not visit occult websites. Not even once!

I felt like I got a letter from satan himself. This really has me spooked.

I know the Holy Spirit will protect me. But I'm a little shook up by this.

Galoutofdixie
April 15th, 2008, 01:02 PM
Hi there,

It sounds like a phishing or mail fraud scheme of some kind? Do a snopes search, or a Google search on this "secret society" and see what you come up with.

Have they asked for any info. such as Social Security #, or bank account #, or asked you to send them any money?

Don't throw the letter away yet; you may find out later if it's a mail fraud scheme of some kind and need to turn the letter over to the Postal Service. In fact, the Postal Service may be able to tell you if this is some kind of mail fraud?

:hugs and :pray for you.

Biblenuggetlady
April 15th, 2008, 01:04 PM
Yuck, I feel like I need a shower just reading what you posted. I've never heard of them. If there's a phone number you could call and ask how they got your information, tell them about Jesus while you are at it. :pray

icebear
April 15th, 2008, 01:10 PM
i'd do an internet search for the return adress

Theresa
April 15th, 2008, 01:23 PM
A man in the UK received something like yours two years ago (there is his original post and an additional post further down the page): http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/176/ripoff0176326.htm

Here's another one from a man in Ohio: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/169/ripoff0169001.htm

Galoutofdixie
April 15th, 2008, 01:39 PM
A man in the UK received something like yours two years ago (there is his original post and an additional post further down the page): http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/176/ripoff0176326.htm

Here's another one from a man in Ohio: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/169/ripoff0169001.htm


Thanks Theresa. :hug This certainly sounds like the letter Twinkle recieved, or one that is very similar. I think she should turn it over to the 'mail fraud' division of her local post office.

Theresa
April 15th, 2008, 01:42 PM
Thanks Theresa. :hug This certainly sounds like the letter Twinkle recieved, or one that is very similar. I think she should turn it over to the 'mail fraud' division of her local post office.

You're welcome! I think she should contact the USPS, also. At least then they'll know it's circulating around (again).

twinkle
April 15th, 2008, 10:11 PM
A man in the UK received something like yours two years ago (there is his original post and an additional post further down the page): http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/176/ripoff0176326.htm

Here's another one from a man in Ohio: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/169/ripoff0169001.htm

Yep! That's it! Especially the second link that you provided. The address was the very same! The info in the first link could be related too.

:thankyou2 THANK YOU so much!!!! I am resting a bit easier now.

This letter is very seductive. It could easily lead some down their dark path.

The letter that is described in the second link sounds exactly like the one I received.

Off to the post office I go...(asap).

:thankyou2 to all of you for helping me. :ghug

Theresa
April 15th, 2008, 10:23 PM
Yep! That's it! Especially the second link that you provided. The address was the very same! The info in the first link could be related too.

:thankyou2 THANK YOU so much!!!! I am resting a bit easier now.

This letter is very seductive. It could easily lead some down their dark path.

The letter that is described in the second link sounds exactly like the one I received.

Off to the post office I go...(asap).

:thankyou2 to all of you for helping me. :ghug


I'm so glad I could help and that you're feeling a little better about the situation. :hug

KnowingYouNow
April 15th, 2008, 11:21 PM
Wow, it still makes you wonder how they got her information? The scarey thing is, with all of the Conspiracy sites around, and quite honestly, in my belief, some true Conspiracies happening. It would be so easy to suck people into this scam. Thanks so much for the info you guys.