Thread: Newspring "Church" in South Carolina

Exclamation Newspring "Church" in South Carolina

I am starting this thread because me and my mom disagree about Newspring "Church." I think it is an Emergent/Seeker-sensitive "Church" based on what I've read elsewhere on this site and other sites. The whole things feels like a cross between a rock concert and an infommercial/corporate retreat.

I am a fundamentalist pre-trib. dispensationalist (etc., etc.) follower of Jesus. I want a traditional service with hymns and "meaty" sermons that are more than just milk.

I wear my Sunday-best to church because that is reverent and how my dad taught me. No flip-flops, jeans, or HATS (on men)! Emergent people just don't get this, but as a lawyer, I also do not go before a judge with my shirt untucked so HOW MUCH MORESO JEHOVAH!!!

I do not make fart jokes in church or reference bathroom humor and certainly don't think a pastor should!

I think a pastor ought to be a serious-as-a-heart-attack kinda guy and be somewhat akin to a theologian. He should not be a stand-up comic or crowd-pleaser. Rather, he should be filled with the holy spirit and speak the Gospel message despite the fact that this scares the fire outta people. He ought to burn bright with the holy Word of the Living God and burn others in the process! Remember Moses and the followers of Korah? How bout Elijah and Ahab's two companies of fifty soldiers?

A pastor ought to preach openly about sin to convict sinners, ask them to repent, have faith in Jesus, and come to salvation. He should also preach the "meat" that is prophecy and the wiles/tricks of Satan. This is opposed to "feel good" messages about super basic truths, like you would learn in 4 year old Sunday School.